Posted by: Chris Maloney | October 15, 2014

Is the CDC Monitoring Nebraska Ebola Cases?

As we now have a second Ebola infection in Dallas, this one a nurse who had a fever on a commercial air flight, the CDC is rethinking how they’re dealing with Ebola.

With all the attention on Dallas, I’ve been wondering about the NBC newsman recovering from Ebola in Nebraska. Yep, not Dallas, Nebraska. Is the CDC monitoring those health care workers in the same way it’s handling Dallas?

Since he didn’t get the virus here, we don’t hear as much about Ashoka Mukpo, who’s being treated at the Nebraska Medical Center (story here). By all accounts, Mr. Mukpo is recovering and should be on is way back to full health. But by all accounts, Dallas was as safe as safe could be, until suddenly it wasn’t. So, is Nebraska being monitored?

 

Responses

  1. I don’t know that Nebraska’s cases are as media-blown out but I can say “The Today Show” has been regularly updating its viewers as well as informed the general public of a “Go Fund Me” page created to help with medical costs. =)

  2. Thanks!

    I’m just wondering if Nebraska nurses are self-monitoring or if the containment protocols in Nebraska were more stringent than Dallas.

  3. That I’m not sure (currently watching NBC Nightly News) hoping to find out. ALL cases should (in theory) be monitored EQUALLY. Let’s up we can come up with something to ‘nip this in the bud’ before it gets any worse.

  4. I’m looking at the CDC conference call today. It looks like Nebraska’s setup is similar to Emery’s in Atlanta. Both autoclave (sterilize) all equipment on site. Emery’s doing more, with a specialized lab dedicated to the patient. Here’s the Time article: http://time.com/3507798/ebola-atlanta-nebraska-cdc/

  5. That’s great news!

  6. I think so too. It seemed like overkill, but I think that’s the bare minimum required to really keep healthcare workers safe. The trouble is that most facilities don’t have that sort of autoclaving ability. So most of our hospitals really can’t handle Ebola safely.

  7. As someone who works in a healthcare facility I couldn’t agree more. My facility certainly doesn’t have the capabilities let alone the funds for it.

  8. So I guess I’d have to say we’re not prepared as a country, and I just pray that we start shipping people to the places that can handle Ebola right. As long as we don’t overwhelm those places, we’ll be all right.

  9. As long as the CDC gets it together and as a country we have the funds!

  10. Ahhh…two big ifs. But we can hope. It was nice to see that at least they’re “rethinking Ebola.” It’s the closest I’ve seen them to admitting that maybe, just maybe, they could have done better.

  11. I just feel Ebola is more contagious than were being led to believe.

  12. I agree. I don’t know if you’ve looked at my Ebola transmission post, but the monkeys exposed to the room previously occupied by Ebola infected monkeys caught the virus. https://alternativendhealth.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/is-ebola-virus-transmitted-through-the-air/

  13. Just read it… Can you explain that to the government please?

  14. Well, it’s all available to the CDC. I didn’t do anything special besides look it up. The trouble is that the guys at the top have about eight letters after their names, and I’ve only got two. So they’ll only listen to the other eight letter guys. The other problem is that what I’m saying is not what they want to hear. You know this from talking to patients. If they don’t want to hear it they don’t want to hear it. But maybe I should send my local CDC head a copy.

  15. I try to believe in making a difference. As healthcare professionals; if we didn’t care we wouldn’t do the job- right?

  16. Fair enough. I just sent my local CDC head the question with the study abstract of the monkey study. At least I should get a form letter reply, but maybe it will get passed up the chain of command and the guys at the top will have a look on medline.

  17. That or UNFORTUNATELY when tomorrow arrives, there will be another person diagnosed. In my experience these dissipate/go stalemate or get worse.

  18. I also liked the study involving the anti-coagulant. I’ll be sure to ask for my Coumadin back (bad joke).

  19. If they get back to me about containment, I’ll send a follow up question about possible treatments. One step at a time.

  20. I got my reply back. They now recommend aerosol-style defenses against Ebola. But they’re not saying it publicly yet.

  21. I’m still swearing by my bleach wipes! Don’t leave home without them!

  22. Bleach wipes are fine for any residual contact. Do they make bleach gloves (non-latex gloves with a bleach wipe front so you can run your hands over everything in a room and make it cleaner)?

  23. Not that I know of but I kind of invented my own. Needless to say, my condo might be the most sanitary living space in the country right now, haha.

  24. I tend toward the other end of the spectrum, figuring that my current bacteria provide a competitive buffer for any invaders. A few years back I got the strep epidemic under control by having them use probiotics after bleaching. Otherwise, a bleached desk is a petri dish waiting for the next infected child’s cough.

  25. Understandable! Over-cleaning on my end- cured a nasty pink eye epidemic at a nursing facility

  26. Yes! It they’d done it every few hours, that would worked too. I think the mucus-to-hand ratio is very high in preschools, so for that group it really needs to be cleaned every hour or two.

  27. Same with the elderly, which I specialize in. You wouldn’t believe the bodily fluids that come from a geriatric person without noticing.

  28. Hearing the camera man is Ebola free, do you think there’s a possibility that there are different strains/strengths?

  29. Sorry for the delay in getting back. Yes, I think there may be several different strains. In previous outbreaks several different outbreaks have occurred simultaneously. I’m wondering if there aren’t a number of strains that are much less deadly. Even a strain that would be similar to cowpox when compared to smallpox. Something like that could be grown and sent out as a vaccine relatively easily. Another possibility might even be carrier individuals who have an almost latent strain and don’t react until they are exposed to a more virulent version. If the vaccines produce more cases, that would be my first guess.

  30. Ironic that there is “no cure” but not many of our diagnosed are now testing “Ebola free”.

  31. It’s a great point. The cure is in the antibodies produced by those who recover. If we just set up donor stations and transfused those with the early stages, we might set up a ring against further transmission.


Tell me what you think!

Categories

