Posted by: Christopher Maloney, Naturopathic Doctor | October 13, 2012

Can Dr. Oz Put You To Sleep? In An Hour?

Main health effects of sleep deprivation (See ...

Main health effects of sleep deprivation (See Wikipedia:Sleep deprivation). Model: Mikael Häggström. To discuss image, please see Template talk:Häggström diagrams (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have found that chronic insomnia is a difficult issue.  And no, Ambien is not a long term solution!  It is only FDA approved for short periods, and leads to addiction.

But you can imagine how popular that speech is with my sleep-deprived patients.  So I love the idea of being able to put people to sleep.

Here’s Dr. Oz’s Solution quickly, and then I’ll break it down:

Add 18 drops, .5 mg, of liquid melatonin to your chamomile tea two hours before bedtime.

Fill a bowl with 2 cups of boiling water and add 10 drops of lavender essential oil. Place your head over the bowl and drape a towel across the back of your head to keep steam in. Inhale deeply for 1 minute.

Ideal room temperature for sleeping is 65-68°F.  Cool your room down.

Try doing this stretch for 2 minutes: Lie down 6 inches from a headboard or a wall with your legs up extended up the wall. Let arms rest by your sides and breathe gently.

So I should drink chamomile tea with melatonin, sniff lavender, cool my room, and stretch my legs?  I’m sorry, that’s not really what I was looking for.

Let me give you a quick, short list of things to try for sleep:

I use 5HTP to help patients STAY asleep.  It keeps them from waking up as much.

I use melatonin (0.5 mg?  Way more.) to help deficient patients fall asleep.

I use valerian, passion flower, hops, Scutellaria, kava, and many other herbs to help patients who are willing to do teas and prefer it.

Every sleep discussion has to center around the concerns and issues around sleep.  Why can’t you sleep?  What is wrong with your bed?  Are you forced to get up to go to the bathroom eight times a night?  Unless you address the issues, knocking someone out with Ambien is really not a hot idea.  (Sleep activities are increasing.  If you want a disturbing discussion of amnesia while driving after taking Ambien, here’s the medline link).

So I’m not going to go into the specifics of Dr. Oz’s approach unless someone writes to me confused about his program.

Try to get some rest.

Responses

  1. Your remedies is great..,i have to try at home.maybe my insomnia will cure.If I am not wrong ,,melatonin can produce him self in our body..,is that right..? Nice post Dr…..Can I share your article….?thanks
    http://www.insomnia-symptoms1.com

    http://www.insomnia-symptoms1.com/

  2. Yes, melatonin is also produced in the body. Which makes taking it when deficient a fairly safe way to correct imbalance.

  3. [...] Can Dr. Oz Put You To Sleep? In An Hour? (alternativendhealth.wordpress.com) [...]


Tell me what you think!

Categories

